Book Slumps

I’ve just spent the last hour trying to write a blog post but it turns out I’m in a blog slump as well as a book slump. I don’t even know if blog slumps are a thing. Since going back to University I’ve not had as much time to read as I did before. I’ve tried to set time aside to read but it’s not helped. It also doesn’t help that the last book I read put me in the slump in the first place. I do have a few tips for getting out of book slumps that have helped me in the past. I thought I’d share them in case they help anyone else.

  1. Do not force yourself to read. Forcing yourself to read when you’re in a slump will only make things worse. You can end up not enjoying a book that you probably would have enjoyed if you weren’t in a slump. Take a break from reading and slowly start reading again.
  2. Re-read an old favourite. Reading a book that you know you loved is a good way of getting out of a slump. It will remind you why you love to read and also you get to go back into the world of your favourite book.
  3. This next one might only work for me but I thought I’d mention it anyway. I try to read contemporary books whenever I’m in a slump. They’re quick to get into and I tend to fly through them. I definitely recommend Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and any book by Morgan Matson.
  4. There’s definitely lots of reasons why you might be in a book slump but if it’s the book causing it – stop reading it. Don’t read the book if you’re not enjoying it. I’m the type of person who has to finish a book I’m reading before I start another and this has caused me to have so many book slumps.
  5. This last piece of advice might not help at all but buy a new book. Go to a bookshop or shop online and try and find a new book that interests you. A new book could really help you out of your slump.

    I really hope these tips help!

2 thoughts on “Book Slumps

  1. Great tips. I’ve found I’m in a general slump — with writing and reading — which adds to my procrastination. I think it stems from fear at the moment, which I really need to control. I’ll be trying these suggestions out, so thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

