Over-hyped books

When I see people raving about a book they really enjoyed, I will tend to buy that book.Β The only problem is that when I come to read the book, it isn’t as good as everyone was saying it was. I love discovering new books but sometimes there are books that don’t live up to my expectations that have been set by other reviews. I thought I’d share some books that I’ve found have been over-hyped.

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. This was actually the first Rainbow Rowell book that I read and I picked it up because there were so many people raving about it. The only problem was, it wasn’t as good as I was expecting. I did still enjoy this book, but it took me ages to get through it. I just felt as though it didn’t really have a plot and I didn’t know where it was going. That being said, I do love Rainbow Rowell’s other books.

Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi. This was one of the first books I bought when I found booktube and other book blogs. It was one of those books that everyone had read and loved. I enjoyed this book but I didn’t like it enough to pick up the next one. It also didn’t help that the reviews of the last book weren’t good. This one just didn’t live up to the hype for me.

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I really didn’t enjoy this book. This was another one that I discovered after booktube and book blogs and I trusted that I’d really like it. From the moment I started, I couldn’t get into the book. The characters weren’t really that interesting to me and it just seemed to drag on. I really wish I enjoyed this book as I see that so many people love the rest of the series. One day, I’ll re-read it in the hopes that I manage to enjoy it.

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo. I loved the first book in this series (Shadow and Bone) and I thought that the story was really unique. However, the rest of the series didn’t live up to the hype that was generated from the first book. The last book certainly wasn’t as good as the first, which was a shame.

I know there isn’t many but that’s it for books that I’ve found to be over-hyped. These are definitely some good books that are worth reading but they didn’t necessarily need to be hyped up so much.

 

Leave a Reply

