Lady Midnight Review

I’ve tried to take as long as I could to read this book so that I took everything in and enjoyed every minute and I’ve finally finished it. Lady Midnight was fantastic and it was everything I could have wished for in a book. This review will contain spoilers, so if you don’t want to know what happened, please stop reading.

Going into this book, I knew that there was forbidden love between Julian and Emma. What I didn’t know was how painful it was going to be to read about their feelings, knowing that they both care for each other so deeply and for it to be just as painful because they cannot be in a relationship. Throughout, there are questions as to why parabatai cannot love each other and the reason is finally revealed at the end. Knowing what will happen if they continue to have feelings for one another, I have no idea how things will work out for them and I really want them to be together! I cannot wait to continue on with the rest of the series to see how things turn out, especially between Julian and Emma.

Being a huge fan of the Shadowhunters series, I know what Cassandra Clare is like with the deceptive characters. I began to guess that it could have been Malcolm Fade who wasΒ the one betraying the Blackthorn family but I still was not expecting that to be true. His deception was so well executed that I actually felt sorry for Malcolm and why he did what he did. It was hinted as well that Diana is keeping secrets so that will also be interesting to read about in the upcoming books. The one twistΒ that I did not see coming at all was Kit Rook being Christopher Herondale! I was in so much shock that I had to stop reading – he’s the lost Herondale! I’m still in shock about this.

Cassandra Clare never disappoints me with her writing and I loved everything about Lady Midnight. The characters were so well written and I fell in love with each and every one. It was great to dive back into the Shadowhunter world with this book and I am so excited to see what happens next in Lord of Shadows.

There is so much more I want to say about this book, but at this point I feel like I’m rambling! I hope everyone enjoys this book as much as I did as it’s definitely become a favourite of mine.

5/5 stars!

Leave a Reply

