Book Recommendations: Fairytale Retellings

As I love doing book recommendation posts, I’ve decided that I’m going to start doing them monthly! Sometimes they will be themed and other times they’ll just be books that I’ve really enjoyed and highly recommend. This month’s recommendations will be fairytale retellings which isΒ one of my favourite genres to read.

First up is a series which you may or may not have heard of, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. There are four books in this series and each features a fairytale character; Cinder – Cinderella, Scarlet – Little Red Riding Hood, Cress – Rapunzel, Winter – Snow White. The twist on these fairytales is amazing as it involves cyborgs and space travel which is something I didn’t think I’d enjoy, but ended up loving. If you want a sci-fi twist on fairytales, definitely consider reading this series.

Next is A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. There are no words for how much I loved this book. I loved it so much that it ended up being my favourite book ofΒ 2015. This is a Beauty and the Beast retelling which involves magic, romance and action. It’s going to be a trilogy which I’m so happy about, the second book – A Court of Mist and Fury has just been released. I don’t want to say too much about this book but trust me, it’s fantastic.

Last up is The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine which is a Snow White retelling which I’ve just finished. I’m not 100% sure whether thisΒ is going to be a series or if it is just a standalone, either one works perfectly. I love the twist on Snow White that this book had as she was completely different to what she’s like in the original fairytale. Definitely pick this book up if you’re interested in reading a different spin on Snow White that includes magic and dragons.

That’s it for these recommendations, if you know of any great fairytale retellings, please let me know as I love discovering more!

Leave a Reply

