A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas Review

13150783_607512299400880_361455142_nFeyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

A Court of Thorns and Roses was my favourite book of 2015, so I had very high expectations for A Court of Mist and Fury. Let me start by saying, it did not disappoint.

A Court of Mist and Fury picked up a few months after the events of the first book which I was not expecting. I thought it would immediately start where it was left off – that being said it was easy to fall back into the world that I had grown to love. It always takes me quite a long time to read any of Sarah J. Maas’s books because I love to take in every detail instead of rushing through to the ending. A Court of Mist and Fury was rich in detail, describing Velaris in a way that made me want to visit straight away and the wariness that you feel toward the Night Court is completely washed away.

Everything about this book was fantastic, from the friendships and relationships, to the mystery and adventure, everything was perfect. Nothing in this book felt rushed, it all happened at the perfect pace which I’ve found is sometimes difficult in other books as it always seems like there’s a really slow build before all the action happens within the last 50 pages. A Court of Mist and Fury is in a completely different league and I really cannot wait for the final book, even though I will miss all the characters and the world so much. I will say that the first 50 pages of the book are a bit slow, only because I really began to dislike Tamlin and I wanted more Rhysand. As soon as Feyre visits the Night Court, things begin to pick up and become so much more interesting.

A Court of Thorns and Roses ends with Feyre gaining the powers of a High Fae. It was definitely really interesting to learn alongside Feyre the abilities that she now possesses and what she can do with those new powers. The magic that she now has widens the possibilities of where the story can go as it opens the door for so many different things that can happen.

A Court of Mist and Fury is probably one of my favourite books that I have read this year, and if you haven’t read it yet, go read it now!

5/5 stars

One thought on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas Review

Leave a Reply

