Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I thought it was about time that I do another book tag and the unpopular opinions one sounded really interesting. This tag was originally created on YouTube, so if you want to watch the original video, I really recommend it. I usually don’t talk about books that I didn’t enjoy or go into much detail about parts of books that I don’t like, so I thought this tag would be really fun to do.

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like. 

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I know that so many people love this book series but I really didn’t like it. The concept of the series still sounds really interesting to me but I couldn’t really get into the first book. I found that I wasn’t enjoying it at all which I was really disappointed about. I may try to read the first book again in the future just to see if my opinion on it changes.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love. 

The Selection series by Kiera Cass. I thought this series was really fun and unique but I can understand where a lot of the criticism for this series comes from. Personally, I ignored all of the bad parts of the books because it was just so fun to read. I do think that it could have ended after three books, with The Heir and The Crown being a spin off series.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like.  

A few months ago I would have had an answer for this question but after continuing on with the series I don’t mind who the main character ends up with. Celaena from The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, has quite a few possible love interests and I orignally loved Chaol and Celaena together. After reading A Queen of Shadows I began to like Rowan and Celaena together but I also like Celaena and Dorian together. IT’S SO HARD TO MAKE A DECISION.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

I usually read a mixture of different genres as I sometimes get a bit bored if I read the same genre time after time. At the moment, I’m not reaching for as many fantasy books as I used to mainly because it’s summer and I really want to read more contemporaries.

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

I guess my answer for this would be Tamlin from A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. He was so possessive over Feyre and never really listened to what she really wanted, instead making all of the decisions for her. In the first book in this series, I thought he was an okay character but after A Court of Mist and Fury, I really couldn’t stand him.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

Leigh Bardugo. I wouldn’t go as far as saying I can’t get into her writing, but I’m not sure whether I want to read any of her other books. I loved the first book in the Grisha trilogy, Shadow and Bone, but I didn’t enjoy the rest of the series as much as I would have liked. I have heard really great reviews about Six of Crows but I’m really unsure whether I should read it.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

It’s so frustrating to read a book that has a love triangle but the author tries to put a twist on it by making one of the love interests evil. I can name quite a few books that have love triangles like this, and it’s so annoying because I begin to like the character and then as a plot twist, it turns out they’re evil.

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

The Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi. I have read the first one in the series but I never felt compelled to pick up the rest. I was planning on reading it but other books got in the way and then I saw spoilers for what happens in the rest of the series.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Hands down, Love Rosie. I enjoyed the book but there was quite a lot that happened within the book that didn’t need to happen. The movie was condensed perfectly and it was so funny which sometimes didn’t come across whilst I was reading it. I love Lily Collins and Sam Claflin so that also helped with me loving the movie adaptation.

4 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. I couldn’t get into The Raven Cycle either. After the first book, I was just not interested in the characters nor the story. The hype doesn’t help either. I also felt the same about Shatter Me. I read the first two books and one of the novellas and I DNFed it. I couldn’t do it anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

