August Bookhaul!

We’re not even halfway through August but I’ve already bought six books which is enough to do a bookhaul. I was going to wait until the end of the month to do this post, but I’m going to try not to buy anymore books until September (wish me luck).

IMG_1630 [15581]
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K Rowling and Jack Thorne
I’ll start with the book that everyone is talking about. As excited as I was for a new Harry Potter book, I originally wasn’t going to buy this. I really wanted to see the play first and experience the new story in a new way. I have heard great things about this book so I decided to buy it anyway and I hope one day, I’ll see the play.

 

IMG_1634 [15573]
This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab
I was quite surprised when I got this in the post because I wasn’t expecting it to arrive until September. I’ve heard that this book is really good and I’ve never read a book by V. E. Schwab before, so I’m really excited to pick this up. This book is set in a world where monsters are created by violence and that alone makes me want to read it. I don’t really know much else about this book, so I can’t wait to start it to find out more.

 

IMG_1631 [15579]
Off the Page by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer
I am quickly running out of contemporary books on my shelf and when I saw this book I decided to buy it. This follows the story of a Prince taken out of a fairytale to live in the real world. In order to live in the real world, the Prince has to find someone to replace him in the fairytale. I probably haven’t explained it very well, but it sounds really good.

IMG_1633 [15575]
Unbecoming by Jenny Downham
I haven’t heard much about this book at all. The premise of the book sounded interesting so I decided to buy it in the hopes that I’ll enjoy it. Unbecoming focuses upon a girl named Katie and nothing is going right in her life. Her Grandmother who she hasn’t seen in years turns up and Katie is expected to look after her. This story addresses quite a few topics including dementia, so I can’t wait to read it and see what I think.

IMG_1632 [15577]
And I Darken by Kiersten White
Ā I’ve heard really good things about this book so far, so I couldn’t resist buying it when I saw it in my local bookshop. This is a retelling of a historical story set in the Ottoman Empire, I’ve never heard anything about this Empire so I’m really excited to learn more about it in this book.

IMG_1629 [15583]
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys
Set in the 1950s this book focuses upon Josie, the daughter of a prostitute. She wants to leave the life she was born into behind and creates a plan to leave but when there’s a mysterious death, Josie is forced to stay. This book sounds really interesting and I can’t wait to start reading it soon.

That’s it for my bookhaul this month, I’m really excited to read them all! What are some books that you’re planning on buying this month?

3 thoughts on “August Bookhaul!

Leave a Reply

