Book Recommendations: Magic

I thought it was about time that I did another book recommendations post. I love the idea of giving these recommendations themes, so this one is going to be focused upon magic. It’s so interesting to see how different authors use magic within their books so I have a list of 5 magical booksΒ that I really enjoyed!

Harry Potter series by J.K Rowling. I couldn’t leave the best magic centered books out of this list. This series is a must read!

Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder.Β I’ve only read the first book in this series so far but I really enjoyed it! This focuses upon a girl named Yelena who is given the choice of being executed or becoming the Commander’s food taster. Becoming the food taster is a dangerous job and Yelena ends ups developing magical powers.

Carry on by Rainbow Rowell. When I first read this book, I was expecting it to be a contemporary like Rainbow Rowell’s other books. I loved the world of magic that was explored in this book and I especially loved the characters. It did remind me of Harry Potter in some aspects so I really recommend this if you enjoyed Harry Potter!

The Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong. This was the first young adult book series that I read that had elements of magic. That was over five years ago and I still love this series so much. This focuses more upon the paranormal side of magic as the main character sees ghosts. This series is a really quick read and so good!

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken. I couldn’t put this book down when I started it. At the age of 10, Ruby is sent to a government rehabilitation camp after surviving a disease that killed lots of children. After discovering that she is there because she is considered dangerous due to the power that she possesses, she escapes with a group of others. Words can’t describe how amazing this book was!

That’s it for my recommendations, what are some magical books that you really enjoyed?

 

Leave a Reply

