Review: Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas

eos

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?


I wanted to write a review on this book as soon as I finished it but I had very mixed feelings on it that I decided to wait a week to review it. I really love the Throne of Glass series but unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy Empire of Storms as much as I wanted to. So much happened within this book that I don’t know where to begin!

I have issues with books that feature lots of different characters points of view. In some books it is necessary to keep the story going but ย other times it can get messy. Empire of Storms has about eight or nine points of view in which the story and whilst I did enjoy the majority of the characters perspective, it was too much. Almost every chapter was another characters point of view and at times it was difficult to keep up with. I did love certain characters chapters, especially Manon’s which surprised me because I didn’t really enjoy her chapters that much in Heir of Fire. I definitely can’t wait for the next book to read more about Manon!

The main issue I had with this book was the ending. I was really enjoying the book and had no idea what was going to happen at the end, and then I read the ending. It was literally a huge information dump that was hard to wrap my head around. I didn’t understand why I was suddenly being bombarded with all of this information that could have easily been spread out throughout the book. I didn’t have any issue with the events that occurred in the ending, it was just the way that it was written. The whole book was so good and it was just let down by some unnecessary information, some of which could have been given in the next book.

I probably haven’t said many good things about Empire of Storms. For the most part, it was very enjoyable. I’m just mad about the ending. I did have to skim read certain parts in the book because I felt like it added nothing to the story (Rowan and Aelin scenes). Overall, I’m a little disappointed but I am still looking forward to the final book in the series and I’m hoping it will be better than Empire of Storms.

3.5/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

