October book recommendations (and a little update)

This past week has already been so hectic. Last Monday was my first day back at University after having an extremely summer! I didn’t expect there to be so much work to do within the first two weeks back, so I haven’t been able to read as much. I was planning on doing a review for the book I’m currently reading, A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnson, but I haven’t finished it yet. I also wanted to do a book haul because I’ve pre-orderd books throughout the year that I didn’t realise are all being released and delivered this month! I just have to wait on a few more books before I can do that post, but it’s coming soon. Onto the actual post…

I’ve never really been a big fan of the dressing up side of Halloween but I do love reading certain types of books at this time of year. I don’t really enjoy horror and bloody books so I thought I’d recommend some books that I love to read around Halloween, in case other people don’t enjoy horror either!

  1. Charles Dickens Ghost stories. This is a really weird one for me and not one that I thought I’d ever recommend. I’ve recently had to read some of Charles Dickens Ghost stories for University and I really enjoyed them. They seem like the perfect stories to read around Halloween, and every single one is so different. Plus they’re really short, so it doesn’t take long to read them at all.
  2. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. I read this last summer and instantly regretted it. I knew that this was a book perfect to be read in October but I couldn’t wait until then to read it. I really enjoyed this book and it definitely wasn’t what I was expecting. The story focuses upon a boy named Jacob, who is currently on holiday with his Father. He encounters a strange girl who leads him back to an orphanage featuring children with really unique abilities. I definitely think that the perfect time to read this is right now due to the film being out (which I haven’t seen yet).
  3. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. If you’re really not a fan of horror or dark fantasy books, then this is probably a great alternative. There are four books within this series that each focus upon a different fairytale character. However, there is a twist. It’s a science fiction retelling that features cyborgs, space and a colonised moon. The science fiction aspect of it is definitely what makes it a good series to read in October.
  4. Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin. This series is definitely mysterious and creepy which is perfect for this time of year. The story focuses upon Mara Dyer, a girl who is struggling after the death of her friend. Strange things keep happening around her until she realises that it may be her who is causing all these things to happen. This series is guaranteed to have you hooked from the first page and is definitely worth the read.

That’s all for my October recommendations. What are some books that you want to read in October?

Leave a Reply

