Book Haul!

I did my last book haul over two months ago and in those two months I have bought eightย more books (woops). The majority of these books I pre-ordered months ago, but I didn’t realise that they were all due for release around the same time. I have a lot of reading to catch up on.

img_2007
A Thousand Nights by E.K Johnstonย 

I’m not going to say much about this book because I have a review of it going up soon. It’s a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights and I really enjoyed it.

img_2011
Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

This is a retelling of the Snow Queen fairy tale, which I haven’t actually read much about. The story focuses upon a girl called Snow, who has lived in a Psychiatric home her whole life. When the boy she loves is taken away, Snow tries to find him with the help of a stranger; shebeings to unravel secrets and discover her powers. I love retellings so I am really excited to start this.

img_2010
Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

I bought this because I heard so many good things about it, I hadn’t actually read the back of the book until just now. This is set on an island where a set of triplets are born; all Queens who are equal heirs to the throne with different magical powers. However, in order to become Queen, the sisters must fight to the death. This sounds so good and I love the idea of there being three different covers for the three different sisters! I have Arsinoe’s cover, who is a naturalist who can bloom the reddest of roses (which is really weird because my name is Rose).

img_2008
Graceling by Kristin Cashore

I have been wanting to read this for years but I never got around to buying it, so when I saw it in my local book shop, I instantly grabbed it. Katsa lives in a world of Graces, people who are born with special skills. Katsa’s skill is the Grace of killing. Feared by everyone Katsa no longer wants to kill and the kidnapping of the King offers her a way out. I have heard so many amazing things about this book so I’m hoping it lives up to my expectations.

img_2006
Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I have read the Grisha trilogy and loved the first book but had very mixed feelings about the other two books in the series. I was so unsure whether to pick this up but I have heard nothing but praise for how good this series is. I thought now was the perfect chance to read the series as Crooked Kingdom has just been released.

img_2012
Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch

This was probably the book that I was the most excited to get this month. The Snow Like Ashes series is one of my favourites and I just can’t wait to see how the story ends. It centres around kingdoms based upon the seasons (summer, winter, autumn and spring).The Kingdom of Winter and its magic was enslaved sixteen years go, the only hope left is the eight people who managed to escape. Meira, an orphan, was raised by Winter’s general and has spent her whole life ready to help Winter rise again. When the location of an ancient locket that has the ability to to restore Winter’s magic is found, Meira goes after it herself. Read this series, you won’t regret it!

img_2009
The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

I’ve heard that this is like a futuristic version of Gossip Girl which sounds very interesting. That alone was enough to make me buy this book so I’m intrigued to find out what the story is about.

That’s all the books that I’ve bought recently. What are some of the books that you’re looking forward to buying or reading next?

Leave a Reply

