How to Read More

One thing that I’m struggling with a lot at the moment, is finding the time to read. University work is taking up a lot of my time and whenever I do have a spare hour or two, I go straight to Netflix. I thought I’d share some tips that I’ve learnt, in case you find yourself in a similar situation.

  1. Don’t force yourself to read. 
    To me, this is the most important tip and one that I’ve learnt the hard way. I have a lot of books that I need to read for University and there are other books that I can’t wait to start. This leads to me forcing myself to pick up a certain book when I’m not in the mood to read it. I don’t enjoy reading if I’ve forced myself to read something, or I don’t take in all the details and sometimes, it can lead to a book slump which is something that no one wants.
  2. Set a daily reading goal. 
    This is a new one that I’m trying out and so far, it’s going pretty well. I used to set myself weekly goals that were always unreachable, like finishing 3 books. I now set page goals which are so much easier to reach and it feels so good when you go past that target. It doesn’t matter as much either if you don’t reach the goal, because you can always increase the target for the next day if you have more free time. I tend to set myself a goal of reading 30-50 pages a day, depending on how busy I am that day.
  3. Turn Netflix/TV/Social Media OFF.
    I’m a big procrastinator and I even procrastinate reading. I usually go straight to Netflix instead of reading a book or scroll through twitter. I used to read in my room all the time but there are so many distractions in there (my laptop) that I now try to read in a different room, where there are less distractions.
  4. Try and make time to read everyday.
    Even if I’m really busy one day, I will try to set aside some time to read. Usually this tends to be before I go to bed or as soon as I wake up. Even if it’s only five minutes that you have to spare, it’s worth it and you can look forward to those five minutes of reading as long as you’re not forcing yourself to do it.
  5.  Enjoy reading.
    Reading isn’t supposed to be stressful, it should be fun, entertaining and something that you want to do. If you’re not enjoying a book, don’t read it. If you haven’t finished a book in a while, that’s okay. Reading isn’t fun if you’re worrying about what you should or shouldn’t be doing.

Those are a few of my tips on how to read more. As I said before, I’m still working on finding the time to read but these tips have been really useful, so I hope they help you too! If you have any tips of your own, please let me know!

2 thoughts on “How to Read More

  1. University is so stressful! However, I always try to find time to read. I aim for 50 pages a day and trying to make it a habit. Luckily, I have a job that I’m allowed to read during my shift. Great tips!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

