Book Recommendations: Historical Fiction

I realised that I hadn’t done a book recommendation post in a very long time. Historical fiction is one of my favourite genres because I love learning more about the past. I only have three books that I’m going to recommend because they are some of my all time favourite books!

  1. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon.
    I love Scotland. I’m half Scottish so I’ve visited Scotland quite a lot and each time I fall more and more in with the place. Until reading Outlander, I realised that I didn’t actually know that much about Scottish history. The main character travels back in time from 1946 to 1743 during the Jacobite uprisings. It’s such a great book and I highly recommend it!
  2. Maus by Art Spiegelman.
    I recently read this for University and I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. I had never read a comic book before and it’s made me want to read lots more. It is a true story, focusing upon Spigelman’s father’s experience in Auschwitz. It really opened my eyes to the events that happened during World War II and it did make me quite emotional whilst reading it.
  3. And I Darken by Kiersten White.
    I read this last summer and absolutely loved it because I had only ever learnt about European history before. I loved that this was a twist on history as it focused upon a female Vlad the Impaler. It’s definitely a gripping story that is worth reading.

I really hope that you enjoy these books if you decide to pick them up! If you’ve read any of them, I’d love to know whether you enjoyed them as well. I’m always on the look out for some new historical fiction so I would really love it if you recommended me some books as well!

Leave a Reply

