Top Ten Tuesday: Must Have Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish – the topic for this week is ‘Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book.’ These are some of the reasons I came up with for why I instantly want to read certain books…

  1. The Author! 
    If an author that I love releases a new book, then I will do anything I can to get my hands on it regardless of what the book is about.
  2. Fairytale Retellings.
    I always have and I always will love fairytales. Whenever I hear about a book that is based upon a fairytale, I know that I need to have it.
  3. Booktube.
    Most of the books that I’ve really enjoyed, I’ve found through booktube. It’s always my go to whenever I want to get a new book recommendation because my local book shops don’t have a great variety of books so I struggle to find new things to read.
  4. Royalty.
    Monarchies have always been really interesting to me and I love seeing how authors create new courts within their work. Throw in some historical elements and it’ll move to the top of my TBR!
  5. History.
    I mentioned this in the previous point, but I am a sucker for historical books. Throughout school, my history lessons were always focused upon modern history and so I never got to learn about anything else. Although some books aren’t 100% historically accurate, I still love reading those types of books – especially because I then end up doing my own research on the history!
  6. Summer.
    Although I hate the hot weather, I really enjoy reading books that are set during the summer months. It’s one of the reasons that I love Morgan Matson’s books so much, because she makes summer sound so much fun.
  7. Tear-jerker.
    Everybody needs a good cry every now and then, what better way than to read a book that is guaranteed to make you sob?
  8. Cover.
    Whoever says that they don’t judge a book by its cover is lying. If a book is beautiful I will definitely buy it, even if I haven’t heard what it’s about. Sometimes that works out really well because I’ll have no expectations and be really surprised when I really enjoyed the book.
  9. Villains POV.
    It can get a bit boring constantly reading from the perspective of a hero because you immediately know that the hero is going to win. The villains point of view is sometimes more fun because you begin to understand why they act the way that they do.
  10. Offers.
    As a student, I don’t have much money. So whenever I do have the money to buy books, I love seeing the offers that retailers have. Money off, buy two for the price of one or a free bookmark are just some of the offers that really encourage me to buy books.


    These are just a few of the reasons why I’ll instantly pick up certain books, what are some of the reasons that make you instantly want to read a specific book?

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Must Have Books

Leave a Reply

