Reading Wishlist

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature created by The Broke and the Bookish – this weeks theme is ‘Ten Things On Our Reading Wishlist’. This is another hard topic for me because I’ve never really thought about what I want more of in books. I’ve tried to think of things that I loved when reading other books whilst making this list!


More Diversity
I think more diversity in books will always be on my wishlist because of how important it is, you can never have enough of it. Contemporary novels are one of the best with representation, but I don’t think I’ve read many diverse sci-fi or fantasy.

Historical Retellings
I love retellings of any kind because it’s such a fun way to read about anything, especially history. If it’s done right, the books are usually amazing even if they aren’t completely accurate.

Victorian Era
I don’t know why but the Victorian period fascinates me so much! I don’t care if it’s historical, fantasy or science fiction, I just want more books that have been set in this period.

Competition Books
I’m re-reading The Hunger Games right now for a university essay and whilst reading it, I’ve realised there are hardly any books that have some sort of competition. I’m not talking about a gory fight to the death battle like in The Hunger Games, but it would be so cool to have more competition books.

Mythology Books
As much as I love Rick Riordan’s books based upon the Greek and Roman Gods, I would love to read about different types of mythology. There’s so much out there, that I just want to read it all.

Different Fairytale Retellings
Snow White, Cinderella and Beauty and the Beast seem to be the most common retellings and as much as I love reading every authors take on the story, I want to see something different. I would love to see a Pocahontas or Mulan retelling!

Study Abroad Contemporary 
Anna and the French Kiss was my inspiration for this one. One of the main reasons I want to visit Paris is because of that book. I really wanted to study abroad for a semester at University but I couldn’t afford it, so I want to live through someone else’s experiences in a book!

Sci-fi 
Fantasy has taken over at the moment and although I do love fantasy books, I want to see more sci-fi again.

Villains Perspective
It’s not common for books to be written from a villains point of view because the hero is always the main character. I want to read from the villains perspective and understand the reasons for their actions or what made them become the villain that they are.

Morgan Matson Books
If I’m ever in a reading slump, as soon as I pick up a Matson book I’m back to reading again. I love all her books and I’m really in the mood to read more books similar to hers but I can’t find any!


Those are all of my reading wishlists! What are some of the things on your wishlists? Do you agree with any of my suggestions? If you take part in Top Ten Tuesday, link me to your post so I can check it out!

3 thoughts on “Reading Wishlist

  1. I’d love to read a study abroad contemporary! That sounds amazing 😀
    I totally agree that there should be retellings of stories other than Snow White and Cinderella. And books with the villain’s perspective are so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

