Giving Books a Second Chance

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what books I really want to re-read, even though I already have loads of books which I haven’t read yet. I was mainly thinking about books that I didn’t really enjoy that much which I still have on my shelf. I want to make sure that some of these books are definitely ones which I don’t like before I get rid of them.


img_3290
Legend by Marie Lu.
This isn’t actually a book that I’m planning on getting rid of, but it is a book that I want to re-read. I’ve only read the first book in this trilogy because I kept reading other books, instead of the next books in the series. A while ago I got the box set for the series, so now I have no excuse! I’ve heard so many amazing things about this trilogy, so I’m excited to finally finish it!

 

 

img_3293Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor.
When I first read this a few years ago, I had very mixed feelings about it. It was a book that I should have enjoyed but I didn’t and I’m not sure if it’s my fault that I didn’t like it. A few months ago I was planning on getting rid of this because I wasn’t sure if I’d ever read it again. I’m glad I didn’t so now I can give it another go and I’m hoping that my opinion has changed.

 

 

img_3292Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.
I loved this when I first read it. I couldn’t wait to pick up the next book but I could never find it in any book shops near me. I then kept seeing loads of spoilers for the series everywhere, and it became impossible to avoid them. Now I know a lot of the plot twists which put me off for a long time because it would be like I’d already read it. I recently heard that there’s going to be more books in the series which means there is some stuff that hasn’t been spoiled (yet!). If I still like this book after re-reading it, then I’ll carry on with the series and try my best to forget about the spoilers!

img_3288The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.
The only thing I liked about this book was the characters, I pretty much hated everything else. I did read this a few years ago, when this type of book wasn’t really one that I would have normally read at that time. The good reviews about this series make me wish I enjoyed it as much as everyone else. I’ll re-read it eventually at some point, and if I still end up hating it then I’ll be a bit disappointed but at least I know I’ve tried!

 

 

img_3289The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.
I read this book when I first started University, which was almost two years ago! It took me two months to read it because I was trying to adjust to the workload and Uni schedule. I can remember bits of this book but I wasn’t able to give the book my full attention. Now that I’ve finished for the summer, I want to read it again and enjoy it properly.

 

 


There are loads more books that I want to re-read but these are the main ones that I really want to get to soon. What are some books that you want to give a second chance to?

2 thoughts on “Giving Books a Second Chance

  1. These are all series that I’ve either loved or haven’t read yet and have heard amazing things about! I need to get a copy of Shatter Me, I’m already way behind having not read it and now new books are coming I need to catch up! šŸ˜Š

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

