April and May Book Haul!

I’ve gotten a lot of books in the last two months. I thought I was done buying books for a few months but after I finished second year at University, I kind of went on a splurge… I had loads of points to spend in Waterstones along with lots of new releases that I had preordered which has led to me having 14 books to haul!



img_3306 
Windfall by Jennifer E. Smith

I’m going to start with this book because it’s the one I got most recently. I went to Brighton on Friday and my friend and I decided to take advantage of the hot weather by sitting at the beach and reading. By take advantage I mean it was too hot to be walking around and it was so much cooler by the water (because I hate the heat). We didn’t bring any books with us so we popped into Waterstones before and both picked up a book. I was really happy when I saw this book because I’ve heard a lot of good things about it, and so far so good!

img_3297Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

This is another new release that I was so excited for! I haven’t had the chance to start reading it yet, but it’s so beautiful. It’s definitely been hard to avoid the spoilers for this one though because it’s all everyone is talking about.

 

 

 

img_3314Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

I have a bad habit of buying books that I never see in book shops. This is a book that I’ve wanted to read for ages but I had so many other books on my TBR that I was going to wait a while before purchasing it… But then I saw it in the book shop for the first time ever and I took it as a sign that I needed to read it asap.

 

 

img_3323The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

This book covers such an important topic, especially something that is present within society at the moment. I started reading this last month, but I picked a bad time to read it because I had assignments due at the same time. I will be restarting it in the next week which I’m really excited about!

 

 

img_3315A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

This cover is so beautiful! It’s definitely my favourite cover from the whole series so far, I keep forgetting that there’s going to be more books. Even though this book has been out for a few weeks now, I’ve not really heard anything about it yet. Which is good because I don’t want to be spoiled!

 

 

img_3319Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

This book sounds like it’s going to be really good. The synposis kind of gives the impresision that it’s going to be similar to Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven and Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon which were both really amazing books. I really can’t wait to start this one because it seems like the kind of book that I won’t be able to put down.

 

 

img_3318With Malice by Eileen Cook

I actually got this book because it was on a buy two for £7 offer. Even though it was an offer that encouraged me to buy it, it does sound really interesting. I haven’t heard anything about this book anywhere, but because of the synposis it’s definitely made me want to pick this up really soon.

 

 

img_3321Flawed by Cecelia Ahern

This book was on the same offer as the previous book I mentioned. It’s actually a book that I wanted to get so I’m really happy that it was on offer. I’ve only ever read one of Cecelia Ahern’s book and that was Love, Rosie. It was really good so I hope that this one is too!

 

 

 

img_3316The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

It’s impossible for me to not get excited over a new Rick Riordan release. The first book in this series, The Hidden Oracle, was so funny, so I have no doubts that this one will be even better.

 

 

 

img_3320Wintersong by S. Jae-Jones

I haven’t been in the mood to read any long books or anything that’s fantasy recently. When I read the synposis for this book, it got me really excited to read it which hasn’t happend in a long time. It also helps that the cover is stunning!

 

 

 

img_3322Geekerella by Ashley Poston

This sounds like it’s going to be such a fun read. It also looks like it’s a retelling of Cinderella but in a contemporary setting which could be really interesting. It’s definitely a book that I’m really looking forward to reading!

 

 

 

img_3317The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm

I’m planning on doing my dissertation on fairy tales, so I need to start doing some research for it. It also gives me an excuse to read the original tales rather than watching the Disney ones.

 

 

 

img_3325The Fairy Tales of Han Christian Andersen

I’m actually going to be focusing more upon the Brothers Grimm fairy tales, but when I saw this edition of Hans Christian Andersen’s I had to get it. It’s so beautiful and it’s definitely something that I’m going to keep forever.

 

 

 

img_3233Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

I have been so excited about this book for the longest time! I started reading it as soon as it arrived a couple of days ago and I’m almost halfway through it. I’m really enjoying it so far, and I’m hoping that I’ll finish it this weekend.

 

 


Those are all of the books that I’ve gotten recently! Each book looks like it’ll be a really good read so I’m excited to get started on reading some of these soon. Have you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? What are some books that you’ve gotten recently?

2 thoughts on “April and May Book Haul!

  1. Awesome haul! I really, really hope you enjoy The Hate U Give because like you said it covers a very important topic as well as just being a great book! I also really enjoyed With Malice it’s a thriller you’ll probably speed right through! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

