Illumicrate Unboxing and Review!

I have always wanted to get a book subscription box because the whole idea sounds like so much fun to me. For months, I have been searching for a book subscription service that is affordable and delivers to the UK. I finally came across Illumicrate and it sounded like the perfect subscription box for me. The box is quarterly, which is what appealed to me the most because you get a box every three months. I didn’t want the commitment of a monthly service because that could get really expensive – although it would be really fun. Illumicrate is priced at £29.99 with free shipping in the UK, they do ship internationally but you have to pay extra for postage. The box usually contains one or two upcoming books and other bookish goodies that are exclusive to the box!

Moving on to what was in the box…

img_3340-1
Overview of the box

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

img_3329

This is a signed copy from Non Pratt and it sounds really good! It’s told from two perspectives and you read the other perspective by turning the book over and flipping it upside down. I’ve never read a book that’s written in this way before so I’m really looking forward to starting it.

The Waking Land by Callie Bates ARC

img_3331

This book is due for release on the 29th of June 2017, so there’s not much longer to wait! It’s a fantasy book but I don’t really know much else about it. It does sound really interesting though!

A Court of Thorns and Roses Feyre Mug (by Merwild)

img_3336

I knew straight away that this was a Court of Thorns and Roses mug which I was really happy about. I love that is shows Feyre throughout the series and how much she has grown as a character! I don’t usually use mugs because I don’t like hot drinks, but this is now proudly sitting on my shelves next to the book series.

Enchanted Door Hanger and Print (by TJ Lubrano)

These are two of my favourite items from the box because they are so beautiful. I’m thinking of framing the print on the right because it would look perfect on my bookshelves.

Map Bookmark (by Penguin Co)

img_3333

It took me ages to realise that this bookmark actually sits on the corner of your pages. I’ve never had a bookmark like this before, but I love the idea of it and can’t wait to use it!

Mermaid Lagoon Candle (by Flickerink)

img_3334

This is another one of my favourite items from the box because it smells amazing (and it’s based upon my favourite Disney film). It’s a really fresh scent but it also reminds me of Calpol, which I used to love when I was younger – even if it was medicine!

Swish and Flick Keychain (by Nutmeg and Arlo)

img_3332

I was so happy when I saw this keychain because it’s Harry Potter themed! I love the colour of it as well as it reminds me of Ravenclaw which is my house!

Windfall Poster and The Gender Games Badge

These were extras in the box, a poster for the new book Windfall which I’m currently reading, and a badge for The Gender Games.

Various Prints from the Book ‘Taste of Blue Light’

img_3337

These prints were another extra item within the box. I didn’t realise until I just searched for the maker of these prints that they are all quotes from the book Taste of Blue Light which is coming out this September.


Those are all of the items that were in the May box of Illumicrate! This was my first ever book subscription box and I’m really happy with everything that was in it. If you know of any other book subscription services please let me know as I really want to find more!

3 thoughts on “Illumicrate Unboxing and Review!

Leave a Reply

