Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han Review

When I read the previous book, PS I Still Love You, I didn’t realise that it was supposed to be the last book. However, I’m so happy that Jenny Han decided to write another book because I really wanted to see how Lara Jean’s final year at high school went! When I first started the ‘To All the Boys I Loved Before’ series, I had no idea how attached I would get to all of the characters. Now that the final books it out, I’m sad to say goodbye to all of the characters and their story – but I’m so happy with how everything ended.

*This review does not contain spoilers*


Lara Jean’s letter-writing days aren’t over in this surprise follow-up to the New York Times bestselling To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You.

Lara Jean is having the best senior year a girl could ever hope for. She is head over heels in love with her boyfriend, Peter; her dad’s finally getting remarried to their next door neighbor, Ms. Rothschild; and Margot’s coming home for the summer just in time for the wedding.

But change is looming on the horizon. And while Lara Jean is having fun and keeping busy helping plan her father’s wedding, she can’t ignore the big life decisions she has to make. Most pressingly, where she wants to go to college and what that means for her relationship with Peter. She watched her sister Margot go through these growing pains. Now Lara Jean’s the one who’ll be graduating high school and leaving for college and leaving her family—and possibly the boy she loves—behind.

When your heart and your head are saying two different things, which one should you listen to?


The book follows Lara Jean as she goes through her last year at high school whilst also preparing for college. It was hard not to be as excited as Lara Jean was about the next chapter in her life! So many things happened within the novel – some good, some bad and some that were so much fun to read about. This novel was the perfect goodbye to all the characters as everything was wrapped up so nicely, making everything more final so there was no wondering about what happened next. As much as I would love to read about Lara Jean’s experiences in college, this was the best way to end the series and I can’t stop smiling after finishing the book.

Even though I loved the book so much, Lara Jean got on my nerves a little bit. I feel bad even saying it, but it’s true – I still love her as a character though! Everyone gets a little preoccupied and stressed when there are final exams and deadlines approaching, but instead of focusing on that, Lara Jean seemed to focus more on other people and making decisions for them. I know that as a character, Lara Jean does like to be in control but at some points within the book it was really overwhelming just how much she was trying to influence other people’s actions. I understand completely why she was behaving the way that she was, she cares so much for the people around her, but some of it was really unnecessary and could have been avoided.

That was my only negative about the book! My favourite part was probably seeing Lara Jean going through the nerve wracking experience of waiting for replies from colleges. It brought back all the memories of my process of getting into University – all the worry, excitement and everything else in between. It was so easy to relate to Lara Jean and the situation that she was in, not knowing what the best decision for her was. I really admire how well she handled everything that was thrown at her, she handled it a lot better than I ever did! It was also really nice to see Lara Jean struggle as weird as that sounds. I’ve read so many books where the characters get everything handed to them, just because they’re the main character, so it was really refreshing to see a main character who didn’t always get what they wanted.

This series has had its ups and downs and being able to follow the Song family along the way has been a really fun experience. They are one of my favourite fictional families because of how close they all are, and despite anything they are always there for each other. This series is so much more than just a romance – it’ll always be a series that I’ll recommend to everyone.


Have you read Always and Forever, Lara Jean yet? What were your thoughts on the book?

Leave a Reply

