Lord of Shadows Review!

I finished Lord of Shadows a few weeks ago and I’m still in shock over everything that happened. Whenever I do reviews, I like to give myself a week or two to reflect on the book to make sure that everything I say is completely honest and I don’t just word vomit straight after I’ve finished it (if that makes any sense!). This is a spoiler free review.


 

LOS_cover

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.

Goodreads Page


It took me quite a long time to finish this book which was really unusual for me. Normally, I can fly through a Cassandra Clare book in a few hours but I think Lord Of Shadows took me just over two weeks. Even though it took me ages to read it, I enjoyed this book so much which really didn’t surprise me. This book made me laugh, cry and smile the whole way through – there are always a good mixture of emotions within a Shadowhunter novel! I especially loved how Cassandra Clare was able to relate so much of what was happening within the plot to current events in society at the moment, it just made it so much more interesting to read. There were more apperances from the characters of The Mortal Instruments series, which made me so happy!

The book is told through multiple perspectives, similar to Lady Midnight and many of Clare’s other Shadowhunter novels. The different point of views worked so well during the book and I especially loved how they overlapped. I usually hate books that are told in multiple perspectives because they can get so messy and confusing, just so that the plot can continue faster. However, I loved how Clare used these multiple perspectives in this novel, so that information wasn’t skipped or ignored. One chapter could end with a character during a dramatic scene and then the next chapter would pick up exactly where the previous finished, except it would be told through a different characters point of view. It was really refreshing to read the story in this way because I feel like it really added to the suspense in some parts and it made it so much more fun and interesting to read.

The one thing I wasn’t a fan of during this book, was the love triangle between Mark, Christina and Kieran. I have an issue in general with love triangles because they can be dragged out so much and create ship wars which can get quite nasty sometimes. I understand the reasons behind this triangle as Mark is conflicted as he is trying to readjust to life with his family in the Shadowhunter world again. I don’t necessarily want Mark to choose one person to be with, I just feel like he has a lot more to worry about rather than romance. With that being said, the love triangle wasn’t a huge factor within the plot of this novel so it was easy enough for me to ignore the scenes surrounding their relationship drama!

The final book in this trilogy, Queen of Air and Darkness, won’t be released until 2019, so there is quite a long wait until we see how everything is wrapped up. There were so many hints within Lord of Shadows as to what could happen in the next one so I’m really excited to see how it ends. For me, this book was definitely 5/5 stars!

 

j (2)


Have you read Lord of Shadows? What did you think of the book?

Leave a Reply

