Summer Reader Book Tag

Seeing as this week is the last week of school before the summer holidays in the UK, I thought now would be the perfect time to do the summer reader book tag. This tag was created by islandOFdri on YouTube, so head over there to check out the original video!


Lemonade: pick a book that started off bitter but got better.

tumblr_nlvp585dxm1rtyojso1_1280

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

This book was a really slow read and so difficult to get into. There were so many times that I wanted to put the book down and never pick it up again, but I ended up really loving it. I know this book has so many mixed reviews, but I loved the writing style and everything about the book.


Golden Sun: pick a book that made you smile beyond compare.

17838528

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

I always smile when reading a Morgan Matson book but I think I smiled the most when I read this one.


Tropical Flowers: pick a book set in a foreign country.

27190613

And I Darken by Kiersten White

A lot of the books that I read are either set in the UK, America or a fantasy world but this one is set in the Ottoman Empire. I wish there were more books that weren’t set in America or the UK because I love learning more about other countries and that’s one of the main reasons why I loved And I Darken so much.


Tree Shade: pick a book in which a mysterious or shady character was first introduced. 

download.jpg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

This whole book was really mysterious and featured so many shady characters. I just finished it a couple of days ago and couldn’t put it down because it was so good!


Beach Sand: pick a book that was grainy, and the plot barely developed.

9780141330532

The Summer I Turned Pretty series by Jenny Han

I’ve picked the whole series for this question because I felt like a lot of what happened in the plot was repeated throughout every book. It was quite predictable at some points and revolves around a love triangle that I wasn’t really a fan of.


Green Grass: pick a character(s) that were full of life, making you smile.

COB_cover

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Every character in this series has traits that make me smile, especially Simon.


Watermelon: pick a book that had some juicy secrets.

LOS_cover

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

So much was revealed in this book and so much was hinted at for the final book in the series as well.


Sun Hat: pick a book that had a vast, big universe/setting.

17399160

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch

The land of Primoria within this book isn’t necessarily a huge area compared to some other fantasy books. However, all of the kingdoms within Primoria are so different to each other and it’s their cultures and values that make them unique.


BBQ: pick a book in which a character was portrayed as a hunk.

Almost every book has a character that is portrayed as a hunk!


If you do the Summer Reader Tag, let me know so I can check out your answers!

Leave a Reply

