Read-A-Thin TBR

I’ve wanted to participate in a readathon for so long because of how big my TBR pile has gotten. I’ve always been too scared to join in because of the time commitment for readathons. I have two speeds when it comes to reading – extremely fast or extremely slow. I always felt like readathons would put more pressure on me to read a certain amount which could then put me in a book slump, which I really don’t want!

I stumbled across the ‘Read-A-Thin’ which has been created by ACourtofBooksandLove, JessicaMarie493 and AVeryBookishGirl. This readathon is taking place throughout the whole of August, so there’s plenty of time to read without any of the pressures of a short readathon. I feel like there’s a lot more variety with this readathon when I saw the challenges, and I’m definitely really excited to take part!


Rules and Challenges as seen on JessicaMarie493‘s blog!

Rules

  • You will have the entire month to read these books.
  • The goal is to complete 6 challenges!
  • You can double up on challenges. In other words, you can use one book for two different challenges!
  • So you only have to read 3 books in a month to completely finish the readathon! Easy!

Challenges:

  • Read a 2017 release
  • Read a book that is the same color (or a similar color) as your birthstone
  • Read a diverse book
  • Read a book with a title or author with the same first letter as the first letter in your first name (the words “a” and “the” don’t count)
  • Read a book that is related to your favorite emoji
  • Read a book starting with a letter from TBR (the word “the” doesn’t count)
  • Read a book with a summer themed cover
  • Read a book with a warm colored cover (orange, red, yellow, brown)
  • Start and finish a series
  • Read a book in 24 hours
  • Read a new to you author
  • Book with water on the cover
  • Read a book set in summer
  • Buddy read a book
  • Read a book recommended to you by someone in the book community
  • Read a guilty pleasure read
  • Read an adult/new adult book
  • Read a book outside of your favourite genre

Like all readathons, they’re supposed to be fun and encourage you to read. I’m going to try not to put too much pressure on myself to read all of the books that I’ve chosen, but I’m aiming to enjoy the time that I spend reading!


Books on my Read-a-Thin TBR

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

ready-player-one-book-cover

Challenges this book will complete:

Read a new author
Read a book with a title that begins with the same letter as my first name (R for Rose)


Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys 

30002434

Challenges this book will complete:

A book with water on the cover


A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634

Challenges this book will complete:

A book that is the same colour or similar to my birthstone. My birthstone is turquoise so I feel like this is kind of similar.


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

32613366

Challenges this book will complete:

Read a diverse book
Read a 2017 release


It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

27362503

Challenges this book will complete:

Read a new adult book
A book that was recommended by the book community


Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

download (1).jpg

Challenges this book will complete:

Read a book starting with a letter from TBR


Poison Study Trilogy by Maria V. Snyder

60510

Challenges this book will complete:

Start and finish a series


Sweeney Todd: The String of Pearls by James Malcolm Rymer

s-l300

Challenges this book will complete:

Read a book outside of my favourite genre
Read a book with a warm coloured cover


Those are all of the books that I’m planing on reading for this readathon! I’m not aiming to complete every book, but if I can read at least half then I’ll be really happy.


Are you taking part in this readathon, what are some of the books that you’re planning on reading? If you’re not taking part, what books do you want to read in August?

 

2 thoughts on “Read-A-Thin TBR

  1. Oh my gosh, so many books on my own TBR that I wish now I had added to my challenges for this month!! I love how many challenges you’re going to complete too!! Get it!!! Thanks so much for joining us and I hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

