Friday Favourites

I thought I’d start a new feature on my blog, where I discuss some of my favourite books that I’ve read or movies and tv shows that I’ve watched throughout the month. As you can guess from the name, Friday Favourites, this is going to be a monthly feature that will take place on the last Friday of each month! I really want to include movies and tv shows mainly because I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned any of the shows I’ve watched before. When I go back to University in September, there’s no guarantee I’ll be able to read as much as I have been recently because of all of the reading I’ll have to do for Uni. On the months that I don’t have a favourite book, I’ll be featuring a favourite tv show or film that I’ve seen that month.


My first Friday Favourite goes to…

9781473629141.jpg

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

I’ve read so many amazing books this month, from Six of Crows to Passenger but by far my favourite was Caraval by Stephanie Garber. I had heard so many great things about the book when it was released at the beginning of the year, but I was never in the mood to read it. I picked it up on a whim after finishing a really disappointing book (One of Us Is Lying), hoping that it would be as good as I had heard it was. As soon as I read the first page, I wasn’t able to put this book down and ended up finishing it in one day, which is something that I haven’t done in a really long time. I was blown away by this book and I’m really happy that it lived up to all the hype surrounding it!

Caraval has been out for over 6 months now and there was so much hype surrounding it, so I’m surprised and proud that I’ve managed to avoid seeing any spoilers or knowing anything about the plot. I say this about a lot of books, but it’s especially true for this book in particular, it’s so much better going into this book knowing nothing whatsoever. There’s so much mystery in the novel that any piece of information could ruin the plot. I’m going to stop here in case I accidentally spoil something, but if you haven’t read this book, you really need to!

There’s going to be another book in the series which I’m also really looking forward to, so it’ll be really interesting to see what happens next. Hopefully it’ll be just as good, if not better, than this one!


Have you read Caraval? What are your thoughts on the book?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Friday Favourites

Leave a Reply

