Disney Princess Book Tag!

Ever since I decided to do my dissertation on fairy tales, I’ve been in such a Disney mood. I really wanted to find another Disney related book tag that was different to the previous one I’d done and I finally found one! This one was created by OfStacksandCups, so check out the original tag!


Snow White
Name your favourite classic

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

516hRocH4cL

I’ve had to read a couple of classics for University that I’ve either hated or loved, but Pride and Prejudice is one that I decided to read myself. I read it a couple of years ago and whilst it wasn’t the easiest book to follow at some points, I did really enjoy it.


Cinderella
Name a book that kept you reading well past your bedtime

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

9781406355819

I don’t really stay up late to read anymore because I end up falling asleep really early. When City of Heavenly Fire came out, I couldn’t put it down and ended up finishing it the day that I got it at 2am.


Aurora
Name your favourite classic romance

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

9780141198927

I had to read this for University and I’m so glad that it was one of the books on my module. I enjoyed the book so much and it’s probably one of my favourites that I’ve had to read for Uni.


Ariel
Name a book that’s about making sacrifices and fighting for your dreams

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

9780552574235

This may be a strange choice for this question, but the main character Maddy, suffers from a rare disease which means she’s unable to leave the house. She’s always wanted to explore and leave her home and never gives up on the chance of doing just that.


Belle
Name a book with a smart and independent female character

Harry Potter series by JK Rowling and Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

With a question like this I couldn’t not choose Hermione Granger and Annabeth Chase. Both of these characters are such strong and intelligent individuals and the series that they’re in, wouldn’t be the same without them.


Jasmine
Name a book with a character who challenged the social conventions of his or her world

And I Darken by Kiersten White

27190613

The main character, Lada, definitely challenges the social conventions within her world. I think part of the blurb sums Lada up perfectly – ‘No one expects a princess to be brutal‘. She’s not supposed to be strong, physically or mentally, yet she constantly fights against a system that says she’s unable to do anything.


Pocahontas
Name a book whose ending was a roller-coaster of emotions

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

LOS_cover

So many emotions.


Mulan
Name a book with a kick-ass female character

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

I recently finished Passenger a few days ago, so when I saw this question I immediately thought of Etta. She’s thrown right into a world that she knows nothing about, transported back in time surrounded by strangers and given what seems like an impossible task. Her selflessness and determination is what makes her kick-ass.


Tiana
Name a book featuring a hardworking, self-made character

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

9780141340135

Just like Disney’s Cinderella, there is so much standing in Cinder’s way. The fact that she’s a cyborg means so many people look down on her, alongside her step-mother and step-sisters who don’t treat her right. Despite this, she works hard trying to escape the world that she lives in.


Rapunzel
Name a book that features an artist

The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

cob-cover

The only person that comes to mind with this question is Clary Fray.


Merida
Name a book that features a mother-daughter relationship

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

516WcmsApcL._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_

This is another unusual book choice, but both Lara Jean and Margot act as a mother figure for their little sister, Kitty. Their bond as a family is so unique and although they act as a mother figure, they’re still able to be Kitty’s big sisters at the same time.


Anna and Elsa
Name a book that features a great relationship between siblings

My Life Next Door by Huntley Fitzpatrick 

9780142426043

I could have chosen To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before for all of the reasons I listed above, but My Life Next Door came to my mind when I really thought about this question. The Garretts are another really close family, whose relationship is also really unique.


That’s it for the Disney Princess tag! If you could be any Disney character, who would you be?

Leave a Reply

