July Book Haul!

I told myself I wouldn’t be doing another book haul for a few months but I lied. However, this book haul isn’t as big as my previous ones – thankfully! I know that once I’m back at University, I won’t be getting any books to read for fun anymore, so maybe I’ll be able to stick to my book buying ban properly next month.

In total, I bought 7 new books this month and as always, I’m equally excited to read every single one!


Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

9781473664425

I recently discovered I have a really bad habit of getting a new book every time I visit a new place, almost like a souvenir. I went to Liverpool for my sisters graduation and whilst we were visiting, we went on a day trip to Bradford. So I ended up getting Flame in the Mist, which I’ve heard is really good. I love retellings and this one is a Mulan retelling, which makes me even more excited to read it!


The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

 

9781473657960

I also picked this book up whilst I was in Bradford mainly because the cover drew me towards it. I hadn’t heard much about it and I thought maybe it was a new release. I was wrong. It’s the second book in a series and I don’t have the first book, The Wrath and the Dawn. This always happens to me! I didn’t realise it was part of a series until a couple of days ago so now I’ll have to get The Wrath and the Dawn at some point in the future!


Nemesis by Brendan Reichs

34434945

I got this book when I went clothes shopping with a friend which quickly turned into book shopping. There was a really good deal on books at the shop that we went to and it was really hard not to take advantage of the offer. We both ended up getting this book because it sounded amazing. After I read these lines on the blurb, I knew I had to get the book:

‘It’s been happening since Min was eight. Every two years, on her birthday, a strange man finds her and murders her in cold blood.’


Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

9781509803538

This was one of the books that I picked up as part of the offer I mentioned above. I’d seen this book around for quite a while and I was never really that interested in reading it. The reviews I’ve read make the book sound amazing, so I can’t wait to read it at some point!


The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

9780141368511

Whenever I would watch a video on YouTube, the trailer for this book would always play. After a while the trailer got on my nerves but it did make me want to get this book. When it was on the same offer as the two previous books I’ve mentioned, I couldn’t help but get it.


Wonder by R. J. Palacio

9780552565974

I’ve wanted to read this book for a really long time now and I finally got around to purchasing it last month! It’s really high up on my list of books to read next, so hopefully I’ll pick it up this month.


Now I Rise by Kiersten White

51-ShhCSIHL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

This book has been one of my most anticipated releases of the year because of how much I loved And I Darken. I managed to get the US edition of this book because it’s so beautiful compared with the UK one. Super excited to read this one!


Those are all of the books that I got last month! What are some of the books that you’ve recently bought or are looking forward to getting?

2 thoughts on “July Book Haul!

  1. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is next on my list of books to get–I’ve been wanting to read it since May when I started seeing people who read ARC’s of it posting their reviews online, and it’s sometimes I’ve been dying to get since then and just haven’t convinced myself to spend the money on (why do hardcovers have to be so expensive?). I’m going to go check out a used bookstore this weekend to see if I can’t find it for cheap, though I doubt I’ll find a copy there (but I’m sure I’ll come away with a whole host of other books, because how can you walk into a bookstore and walk out without something?). If I can’t find it there, I think I’m just going to buy it for myself at full price, as a sort of going-back-to-college present.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

