One of Us is Lying Review

One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon’s dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

32887579 (1)

(Synopsis from Goodreads)


The more time that I’ve had to reflect upon this book, I’ve noticed that I keep discovering new issues that I had with it. I had really high hopes for this book, I thought it was going to be my new favourite book, but unfortunately it wasn’t. With that being said, I did enjoy this book overall, there were some parts that I didn’t like which I haven’t seen many people discussing.

When I first heard about this book, I couldn’t wait to read it. It shot up to number one on my TBR list, because it sounded amazing. The synopsis reminded me of some of my favourite TV shows, like Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, so I was really looking forward to starting it. It started off really well, and the mystery began straight away.

The mystery in this book was one of the things that I loved the most, it’s what kept me reading. I finished this book pretty fast because I couldn’t wait to find out the truth. Whenever I thought that I was getting close to figuring out what happened in detention and to Simon, more secrets were revealed which led to my guesses being wrong. I kept changing my mind on who killed Simon, but I did manage to work it out towards the end! I was quite shocked at the reveal, mainly because I wasn’t expecting it at all. Even though I was completely thrown off by the ending, I did have a few issues with it. I’m not going to spoil what happened but I do feel like it trivialised a very important subject, one that is already ignored in society, and it was basically used just for the ‘shock factor’.

The book is told from four very different perspectives, with each character representing a stereotypical high school student. I feel like Karen McManus tried to break down these stereotypes and show that the characters were more than just their label, and to some extent this did work. Some parts were still very stereotypical to me, especially regarding Nate, but I did find myself able to relate to quite a lot of the characters. There was so much character development in this book which I am really thankful for! It was really nice to see how much each character grew throughout the book, even though it took a terrible situation to encourage them to change.

I think if I hadn’t over-hyped this book for myself, then I would have enjoyed it a lot more. If you haven’t read it yet, just be wary of the hype surrounding it. Whilst it is a really good debut novel from Karen McManus, it’s not without its faults, but it’s not all bad!

Untitled


Have you read One of Us Is Lying? What were your thoughts on the book?

 

6 thoughts on “One of Us is Lying Review

Leave a Reply

